MLB announces 2020 All-MLB teams presented by CohnReznick

    MLB-Issued Press Release: Major League Baseball today announced the selections for the second annual All-MLB Teams presented by CohnReznick.  The first and second teams, which were announced earlier this evening on MLB Network, were determined by a combination of voting from fans and a decorated panel of media members, broadcasters, former players and other officials throughout the game.  Each player named to the All-MLB First or Second Team will receive a trophy to commemorate his selection.

    The 2020 All-MLB First Team winners include catcher Salvador Perez of the Kansas City Royals; first baseman Freddie Freeman of the Atlanta Braves; second baseman DJ LeMahieu of the New York Yankees; shortstop Fernando Tatis Jr. of the San Diego Padres; third baseman Manny Machado of the Padres; outfielders Mookie Betts of the Los Angeles Dodgers, who was the leading vote-getter amongst fans, Mike Trout of the Los Angeles Angels and Juan Soto of the Washington Nationals; designated hitter Marcell Ozuna of the Braves; starting pitchers Trevor Bauer of the Cincinnati Reds, Shane Bieber of the Cleveland Indians, Yu Darvish of the Chicago Cubs, Jacob deGrom of the New York Mets and Max Fried of the Braves; and relief pitchers Nick Anderson of the Tampa Bay Rays and Liam Hendriks of the Oakland Athletics. 

    Second Team All-MLB selections include catcher J.T. Realmuto of the Philadelphia Phillies; first baseman José Abreu of the Chicago White Sox; second baseman Brandon Lowe of the Rays; shortstop Corey Seager of the Dodgers; third baseman José Ramírez of the Indians; outfielders Ronald Acuña Jr. of the Braves, Michael Conforto of the Mets and Mike Yastrzemski of the San Francisco Giants; designated hitter Nelson Cruz of the Minnesota Twins; starting pitchers Gerrit Cole of the Yankees, Clayton Kershaw of the Dodgers, Dinelson Lamet of the Padres, Kenta Maeda of the Twins and Hyun-Jin Ryu of the Toronto Blue Jays; and relief pitchers Brad Hand of the Indians and Devin Williams of the Milwaukee Brewers.

    Three players – deGrom, LeMahieu and Trout – appeared as first-team selections for a second straight season, while 12 players overall were selected to either of the teams in consecutive seasons.  The other nine players named for a second straight season include Acuña Jr. (2nd team in 2019), Betts (2nd team in 2019), Cole (1st team in 2019), Cruz (1st team in 2019), Freeman (2nd team in 2019), Hendriks (2nd team in 2019), Realmuto (1st team in 2019), Ryu (2nd team in 2019) and Soto (2nd team in 2019).

    The Braves had a Major League-leading three first-team selections, while the Padres were the only other Club with multiple first-team honors.  The Braves led the Majors with four players selected across both teams, followed by the Dodgers, Indians and Padres (three each).

    Thirteen of the 32 players named to the All-MLB Teams (40.6%) hail from six countries outside of the United States, including the Dominican Republic (6), Japan (2), Venezuela (2), Australia (1), Cuba (1) and South Korea (1).  In addition, the teams feature four players age 25-or-younger, including Tatis Jr. (21), Acuña Jr. (22), Soto (22), and Bieber (25).

    Contact: Matt Bourne or Michael Teevan, Major League Baseball, (212) 931-7878,, @MLB_PR.

    CohnReznick and Major League Baseball® Content Hub

    Major League Baseball trademarks and copyrights are used with permission of MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved. Visit